24. So You Are Muslim

“So you are muslim?” he asked the young man.

“Yes I am,” he replied with all pride.

“Religion for you is a moral compass,” he asked, “is that correct?”

“Obviously.”

“Why do you do good or stay away from evil?”

“Because I fear Allah’s punishment and hope for his promised bliss?”

“Is that all?”

“Oh well..”

“You have a father, don’t you?” he asked the young man.

“Yes, Alhamdulillah.”

“So why do you obey him,” he continued, “is it so he doesn’t get angry or so he’d provide for you? Or is it just because you love him?”

“Oh well,” he began, “My dad can be too strict sometimes, but what does that have to do with doing good or staying away from evil?”

“Never mind,” the old man sighed as he walked away in frustration.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “24. So You Are Muslim

  1. mayowa says:

    Hi! I’m a fan of this blog and the first one.I think what u’r doing is remarkable. I’d like to have ur email add, u know, for qts and all.keep up the good work. Salam

What do you think?